Welcoming Our Rising Sixth Graders to Shaker Middle School

Shaker Middle School is thrilled to extend a warm welcome to all incoming sixth-graders for the 2024-2025 school year. As a crucial part of our comprehensive transition program, we arranged a special orientation on June 4th. This program, led by SMS administrator Mrs. Thea MacFawn and the fifth-to-sixth grade transition committee, is designed to familiarize students with our school environment, curriculum, and support systems, ensuring a smooth and confident start to their middle school journey.

The visiting students were welcomed by the SMS administration, who gave a general presentation. They also had the chance to ask questions to current sixth graders and the school counselors. Additionally, the fifth graders took part in small breakout groups, which included tours of the SMS building, lunch, and a quiz game show in the style of Jeopardy. These breakout sessions were led by SMS teachers and current sixth-grade student representatives. 

Before the program, sixth-grade school counselors worked with a group of current sixth-graders who went through a rigorous application process to train as “student representatives” for this special program. These students demonstrated excellent time management skills by balancing their regular middle school responsibilities with the additional responsibility of training to lead and assist with the fifth-grade transition program.

We would like to extend our congratulations to all the sixth-grade student representatives for their dedication, leadership, and volunteer efforts in serving their community. They effectively represented the sixth-grade class and the Shaker Middle School community as a whole. Here are the names of the sixth-grade students who made significant contributions and created a positive impact:

Algonquin and Skylight Reps: 

  • Kulsum Ahmad
  • Louis Jin
  • Fatima Abbas
  • Julia Craig
  • Chloe Hogan
  • Giacobi Moore
  • Mishika Sharma
  • Rhett Szemplinksi
  • Emmanuella Toutoute
  • Kriti Soni
  • Inaayah Ashar
  • Oliver Li
  • Arhan Singh
  • Siddhesh Soma
  • Sofia Guzda
  • Perez Amponsah
  • Syeda Zaynabali

Haystack and Wright Reps:

  • Nate Ebejer
  • Elin Kusche
  • Anika Neelakandan
  • Khyati Namburi
  • Eloise Rebmann
  • Laila Sherwin
  • Hiba Tasaddaq
  • Ahsen Turan
  • Ariah Welsh
  • Aleeha Zainab
  • Zariya Zainab
  • Johnny Arcuri
  • Evelyn Deyoe
  • Willa Draper
  • Lily O’Higgins
  • Akua Owusu
  • Mia Primero
  • Avery Cohn
  • Elizabeth Ryan

We would like to express our gratitude to the numerous individuals who worked in unison to ensure the success of this segment of the transition program. This includes the elementary school principals, fifth-grade teachers, elementary school counselors, SMS teachers, and, of course, the incoming sixth-graders themselves. We are overjoyed to welcome all our incoming sixth-grade students to Shaker Middle School in the fall and are eagerly anticipating an exceptional 2024-2025 school year!