main content starts here

Shaker High School announces commended students in the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program

| October 17, 2019

2020 National Merit Scholarship Commended StudentsRichard W. Murphy, Principal of Shaker High School, has announced that the students whose names are listed below are commended students in the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program:

  • Gianna Aquino 
  • Rohan Bagchi 
  • Labika Baral 
  • Elizabeth Bernardini 
  • Sydney Bulatao 
  • Sophie Crehan 
  • Raymond Eah 
  • Heather Giordano
  • Justine Hulbert 
  • Ian Justino 
  • Junseo Kim
  • Virag Korniss
  • Haejin Lee
  • Varun Mondaiyka
  • Varun Morishetty
  • Kayla Na
  • Margaret O’Rourke
  • Chloe Opperman
  • Tanya Pai
  • Tiffany Tang
  • John Yin

A Letter of Commendation from the school and National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC), which conducts the program, will be presented by the principal to these scholastically talented seniors.

Thirty-four thousand commended students throughout the nation are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise. Although they will not continue in the competition for Merit Scholarship awards to be offered next spring, commended students placed among the top five percent of 1.5 million students who entered the 2020 Merit Program by taking the 2018 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.

A National Merit Scholarship Program spokesperson stated “These students represent a valuable national resource; recognizing their accomplishments, as well as the key role their schools play in their academic development, is vital to the advancement of educational excellence in our nation. We hope that this recognition will help broaden their educational opportunities and encourage them as they continue their pursuit of academic success.”

Category: Archive, District News, SHS

Comments are closed.