main content starts here

14 SHS students honored by National Merit Scholarship Program

| November 27, 2018

Fourteen Shaker High School students have been recognized as Commended Students in the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program. Those students are:SHS seniors honored by the National Merit Scholarship Program pose for a picture

  • Ishan Ahuja
  • Anthony Caropreso
  • Yurim Chae
  • Dennis Howard
  • Mahila Krishnamurthy
  • Nathan Lasalle
  • Shantala Mehta
  • Catherine Milas
  • Noah Page
  • Zev Siegfeld
  • Jacob Sternbach
  • Yena Sung
  • Hibah Vora
  • Willow Yang

A Letter of Commendation from the school and National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC), which conducts the program, will be presented by Principal Richard W. Murphy to these scholastically talented seniors.

Thirty-four thousand Commended Students throughout the nation are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise. Although they will not continue in the competition for Merit Scholarship awards to be offered next spring, Commended Students placed among the top five percent of 1.5 million students who entered the 2019 Merit Program by taking the 2017 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.

A National Merit Scholarship Program spokesperson stated “These students represent a valuable national resource; recognizing their accomplishments, as well as the key role their schools play in their academic development, is vital to the advancement of educational excellence in our nation. We hope that this recognition will help broaden their educational opportunities and encourage them as they continue their pursuit of academic success.”

Congratulations to these seniors for all their hard work!

Category: Archive, District News, SHS

Comments are closed.